LaTeX plugin: build paths are in!

A long-standing stumbling block for people getting started with ST2 on the Mac was the need to specify the TeX binaries path in a somewhat esoteric (and hidden) OSX plist file.

Well, no more! To make a long story short, my hard disk crashed, so I had to reinstall and reconfigure the OS and software on my Macbook Pro. In particular, my now-virgin system no longer has the .MacOS/environment.plist file correctly set up. I decided to use this opportunity to fix things the right way.

Now, the LaTeX.sublime-build file recognizes a new option, “path”. On the Mac, it is preconfigured so it works with any recent default install of MacTex. You can change it if necessary, but most likely you won’t need to: the build system should now just work.

On Windows, recent versions of MikTex do the right thing and set up the path so no special setting is needed, but the option is available in any case to handle non-standard configurations. (Note: you still need to manually add the Sumatra directory to your path; I plan to fix this next.)

As usual, please pull from GitHub, test, and report any breakage.

6 responses to “LaTeX plugin: build paths are in!

  1. Very nice: Thanks!

    Have you any plans to support magic comments? Particularly “%!TEX root = rootFile.tex”?

    • That’s definitely on my TODO list—in fact, multi-file support is something I intend to put in before i tag the plugin “1.0” (whatever that means…).

  2. Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wondering your situation; we have developed some nice practices and we are looking to trade methods with
    others, why not shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  3. What’s Takingg pace і am new to this, I stumbled upln this I have found It positively
    սseful and іt has helped me out loads. ӏ’m hoping to
    contribute &assist diffеrent customers lіke its helped mе.

    Gгeat job.

  4. Hey There. I fοund your blog using msn. Tɦis іs a reallу
    well written article. І’ll be sure tо bookmark іt ɑnd return to read more of your սseful
    info. Τhanks fߋr thе post. І will ϲertainly comeback.

  5. Hi! I know this is kind of off toic but I was wondering ԝhich blog platform aree ʏou usin for tɦis site?

    ӏ’m getting fed uρ of WordPress Ьecause I’ve had proƄlems with hackers аnd I’m looking at options fοr another platform.

    I woulԁ bе fantastic if ʏou cοuld рoint me іn tɦe
    direction օff a good platform.

Leave a Reply

