SumatraPDF 1.6 vs. 1.4

A quick post for Windows users of the LaTeX plugin. I just updated Sumatra PDF from version 1.4 to version 1.6. Unfortunately, forward search stopped working 😦 I checked, and this (mis)behavior has been present since version 1.5, which I had skipped. (Inverse search works fine, BTW).

I reported the issue to the developers; in the meantime, please use version 1.4, which works fine. You can get it from here (equivalently, navigate to the Download section of the SumatraPDF, and look for the link at the bottom of the page).

Edited (6/9/2011 at 11:45p): ends up there was a bug in my DDE code that Sumatra 1.4 forgave, but later versions did not. If you pull the most recent version from GitHub, you’ll be fine with Sumatra 1.6 as well. I am not sure I fully understand why the fix was needed, but I checked my code against this and figured out what I was doing wrong.

4 responses to “SumatraPDF 1.6 vs. 1.4

  1. Hi Marciano! I still can’t get a proper fwd search.. I m not sure I remember, maybe you ve mentioned you haven’t implemented this yet, but I can’t get it to work for multi-file projects (ie books). If press alt+shift+j from within a texfile, it tries to compile the file, not the master file, and it fails..
    please please please can you fix this?!?! I want to jump to st2 desperately !!!

    • Hi Sotiris,

      did you try the latest version? Multi-file support has been in for a while; you need to add a line like

      %!TEX root = Multipart-master.tex

      at the top of every included file, and you should be fine. I just checked both building and jumping, and they work (on my Mac). Let me know!

  2. I didn’t know about that line, thanks! it worked perfectly!

  3. btw do you know if there is a way to have on the left bar only the included tex files on display? and not the whole folder? I don’t mean to have the synctex, aux etc files filtered, I mean, if the folder has 1000 tex files and only 25 are included, then show only those 25 on the sidebar.

Leave a Reply

