Google Chrome: favicons are back on my Mac!

Just a quick note. I use Chrome as my main browser on both Mac and Windows. I love it: it’s super-fast, and having a single bar for URLs and searches is very convenient.

I am using the Dev channel, and set it up to auto-update. Well, today I got Build 12.0.742.0 dev, which finally fixes one of the two main issues I had with Chrome on the Mac. I have a bunch of folders in the Bookmark bar, containing categorized links to the sites I visit most often. Up until yesterday, clicking on a folder right after starting Chrome produced a drop-down menu that did not display favicons (the cute little icons that also appear in the URL bar on most sites)—just the site names and, for each site, the default “globe” icon. On the other hand, the second and subsequent times I opened a given menu, all favicons were correctly displayed. Note that this was a problem only on the Mac; the Windows version worked just fine.

I had gotten in the habit of opening all bookmark-bar menus one by one upon first launching Chrome, just so I would get the favicons to show up when I actually needed them. I do find favicons a convenient navigational tools, so I was willing to put up with the inconvenience, but obviously this was something that just had to be fixed.

Well, Build 12.0.742.0 dev finally does fix this bug. I now get glorious favicons right from the start! Yay! Furthermore, as you scroll or move your pointer down a menu, each favicon is highlighted in a subtle but useful (and elegant) way. Nice!

This leaves one last, but major gripe: PDF documents are displayed in-browser, but font rendering is horrible. I have already blogged about this, so I won’t repeat myself. Please, Google, use the platform PDF renderer where available, and a decent plugin elsewhere (i.e. on Windows). Thanks!

4 responses to “Google Chrome: favicons are back on my Mac!

  1. I am trying to set up ST 2 and cannot get my .tex file to format. Command-B results in
    [Errno 2] No such file or directory
    [Finished]
    I am not a programmer, but used TextMate for several years. I am tempted to switch over to ST 2, but can’t get started. I am using OS X 10.6.7

    • Hi Jenny,

      this sounds like a path problem. Unfortunately the documentation for the LaTeX plugin is not ready yet, so the following will have to do😦

      Basically, you need to make sure that ST2 can find your tex/latex binaries. To do so, you need to create a directory called “.MacOSX” off of your home directory, and a file called “environment.plist” in that directory, with the following contents:


      {
      PATH = "/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/texbin";
      }

      [Note: “PATH =” and the directories in quotation marks should be on the same line—Wordpress is breaking them up :-(]

      You can do so using ST2 or TextMate, or even from the command line using e.g. nano. Notice that the “.MacOSX” directory will be invisible from the finder, because of the dot (sorry if this is obvious, but I thought I’d mention it just in case).

      IMPORTANT: after doing this, you MUST log out of your account, and log back in. It is not enough to restart ST2. On the other hand, you don’t have to reboot—just log out and log back in.

      This forum post gives some background:

      http://www.sublimetext.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&p=9369

  2. Pingback: LaTeX Plugin: Build system activated | Tech, TeX and Theory

  3. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers
    made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

