Gingerbread on my Captivate after a Factory Reset

You may have noticed that I haven’t blogged about my Captivate in a while. The reason, quite frankly, is that I had (notice: had) grown quite a bit dissatisfied with it. The phone was getting noticeably slower, and I was seeing force close messages on an annoyingly regular basis. Finally, AT&T still hadn’t released an OS update: I was still running Froyo (so 2010!), as I didn’t have the guts to root my phone and install a custom ROM.

Well, the Gingerbread update finally became available, and I promptly installed it, hoping it would sort out all of my issues. Long story short: it didn’t. In fact, if anything, I kept getting an annoying message to the effect that the Tethering Manager (which I don’t use) was force-closing every time WiFi was turned off and then back on (for instance, every time the phone comes out of sleep mode, which happens, oh, maybe 20 times a day minimum?)

I decided to take matters into my own hands. With some trepidation, I went into the Settings menu, then Privacy, then Factory Data Reset… poof! All my apps, messages, data, etc. were gone. The phone was back in a pristine state—or, more precisely, in the pristine state of a Captivate running Gingerbread, as I did the reset after installing the OS update. After a very lengthy and frankly distressing wait, I had to reenter my Google credentials…

and I was in phone heaven!!! True, I had to reinstall all my apps, but, since I use Google Contacts and Calendar, all my, well, contacts and appointments came back automagically. I really had no additional important data on my phone that was not backed up elsewhere. In particular, I didn’t care about SMS (text) messages, which do get wiped out. The huge payoff is that the phone is now fast. As in, it has never been this fast before! It almost feels like a new phone altogether. The browser just flies (this is probably also courtesy of Gingerbread of course), and Google+ displays the Stream almost instantly; I have yet to see a force close. Bottom line: the phone now officially has teh snappy. I can barely recognize my Cappy!

A few things I noticed:

  • Android Market keeps track of the paid apps you have purchased, but forgets the free apps you have downloaded. Not a big deal, but you may have to remember what you installed if you didn’t pay for it
  • When I did the factory reset, I didn’t actually wipe the internal storage as well. However, Google Music lost track of the songs I had synced on my phone. I had to do a bit of cleaning up afterwards, but again nothing was lost.
  • If you use Google’s Two-step authentication (hint: you should), you need to reenter your application-specific password on your phone; if you didn’t save it, you must generate a new one (and delete the old one). Also, you need to redownload and reregister the Google Authenticator app.

Finally, one word of warning: if you do have important data on your Cappy, do back up!

4 responses to “Gingerbread on my Captivate after a Factory Reset

  1. Like I said when the Gingerbread update (or any update for any device really) The proper flashing procedure should be: Factory reset / wipe, Flash new system, Factory reset / wipe. This simple procedure has never failed me with my Captivate. I agree with you, the Gingerbread update does the Captivate a world of good. Follow these simple steps and you get a Sanppy Happy Cappy!!

  2. Thanks for posting this. I had the same error come up every time I charged my phone or connected to a PC with the USB cable. If you sign in to Google play and click on “My Android apps” you can get a list of everything you installed, paid or free. You can also push the app installs remotely from there!

  3. Pingback: From Gingerbread to Ice Cream Sandwich | Tech, TeX and Theory

Leave a Reply

